Fitness photos with Canon and Pocket Wizards.

29 04 2010

Hey everyone,

Today, I’m posting two photographs I made last sunday on the Mount-Royal, in Montreal.

The two photos were taken with a Canon EOS 1D MARK II N and a Canon 50mm f/1.4. I used to hate this lens and came very close to sell it because it gave me crappy results wide open at F/ 1.4. I got used to the Zeiss 50mm Planar F2 on my Leica M8 and I can say that this lens beat the Canon by far for the sharpness wide open (for me, the Canon is unusable at 1.4). HOWEVER, I now realize that the Canon 50mm has a wonderful bokeh in comparison to the Zeiss. I sort of figured out that the best way to use this lens is by starting it at F2. That way, I can get decent sharpness AND a really beautiful bokeh.

By the way, those two shots were taken using the Pocket Wizard Mini TT1 and Flex TT5 with a Canon Speedlite 580EX. I first got some range problems with the radio remote. I’ll have to test it to find out if my problems were caused bye the noise emitted bye the 580EX or simply because my radios were to low, close to the ground.

Here are the photographs.

Thanks

PL

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

